Marymount Names Commencement Speaker

Marymount Names Commencement Speaker
The selected speaker for the 2016 Marymount California University commencement ceremony is 10-time Emmy Award-winning composer, conductor and songwriter Jack Allocco. Graduation will be held on May 7 at the Oceanview campus in Rancho Palos Verdes. Allocco will receive an honorary Doctorate of Humanities from the University.
Accompanying his 24 Emmy nominations and 10 Emmy wins, Allocco also has received  the BMI  Film and Television Award for Outstanding Composition, and 13 American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) Awards for “Most Performed Themes and Underscore on Television” as composer for Sony Pictures Television’s “The Young and the Restless,” and CBS Television’s “The Bold and the Beautiful,” which is lauded as the most watched daytime drama in the world, with a daily audience of 26.2 million viewers in more than 98 countries. He also has composed works for stage, television and films, as well as concert works for orchestra, including “Animal Crackers,” a classical ballet for children.

Allocco has appeared in several feature films, including “Atlantic City,” and is well-known for his appearances as “Clark” on daytime television’s “The Young and the Restless.” His music is featured in the Tom Cruise film, “The Firm,” and he has worked with such musical artists as Enrique Iglesias, Jewel and Trace Adkins. He also has performed with notable artists on classic television shows including “Hee Haw,” “The Merv Griffin Show” and “The Tonight Show.” In addition, Allocco has toured as music director with countless theatrical productions, and has performed in concerts at Carnegie Hall, Buckingham Palace, The Grand Ole Opry and several times at The White House. Allocco also has conducted and recorded his compositions with symphony orchestras throughout the United States, Europe and Australia.
In 2007, Allocco, who attended two colleges to obtain his dual degrees in Accounting and Music, was invited by then president Michael Brophy to write an alma mater for the College. A member of the College’s Board of Trustees and good friend of former president Thomas McFadden and his wife Monica, Allocco was honored by the request and was inspired by McFadden’s leadership to pen the tune, “A Light for All to See.”
“I named it ‘A Light for All to See’ because I felt that it fit in with Marymount’s role as a beacon for students, showing them the way to a better, more fulfilled life,” Allocco said.” I later found out the school’s motto was “Tua Luce Dirige,” which is “guide us by your light” in Latin. I honestly had no idea, but it ended up being a strangely successful coincidence.”
In addition to his work, Allocco volunteers his time to speak with music students at colleges and universities across the country on the state of the music industry. He and his wife Stacie also support a number of musically-based charities, such as The Children’s Music Fund, which supplies musical instruments and music therapy to disadvantaged kids, and Education Through Music, a charity that also provides musical instruments and lessons to children who no longer receive music education in their schools. A few of their many other philanthropic priorities include The School of the Holy Childhood, an institution that supports and educates physically and mentally handicapped children and adults in Rochester, New York, and Community’s Child, a local charity that supports single mothers.
Now living in Palos Verdes with his wife Stacie, their daughter Catherine and son Nicholas, Allocco also was recently awarded an Honorary Doctorate degree from Nazareth College in Rochester, New York.

Commencement Speakers  
Class of 2016 - Jack Allocco Class of 1998 - William T. Huston
Class of 2015 - Jose M. Hernandez Class of 1997 - Charles Hillinger
Class of 2014 - Al Muratsuchi Class of 1996 - Dr. Gary B. Nash
Class of 2013 - Patt Morrison Class of 1995 - Dr. Frank Newman
Class of 2012 - Tommy Lasorda Class of 1994 - James Flanigan
Class of 2011 - Tom Sullivan Class of 1993 - Dr. James D. Dougherty
Class of 2010 - Dr. Mary Ellen Gozdecki Class of 1992 - Sr. Mary Milligan, RSHM
Class of 2009 - Sister Rita Arthur, RSHM Class of 1991 - Reverend Carl A. Fisher, S.S.J.
Class of 2008 - Debra Bowen Class of 1990 - Fr. Herbert DeSouza, S.J.
Class of 2007 - Louis Zamperini Class of 1989 - Dr. Carlos E. Cortes
Class of 2006 - Cardinal Roger M. Mahony Class of 1988 - Ira Fistell
Class of 2005 - Dr. Kevin Starr Class of 1987 - Dr. Jack Brownell
Class of 2004 - Councilwoman Janice Hahn Class of 1986 - Paul Westhead
Class of 2003 - John Morgridge Class of 1985 - Mary Anne Dolan
Class of 2002 - Dr. John S. Foster Jr Class of 1984 - Judith Conway Greening
Class of 2001 - Maureen O’Hara Blair Class of 1983 - Donald R. Gerth
Class of 2000 - Edward P. Roski, Jr. Class of 1982 - Gary Owens
Class of 1999 - Governor E. Benjamin Nelson Class of 1981 - Jack Smith

Go to top